Customer Settings

To get to Customer Settings, head to Admin > Customers - Preferences.

Turn on SMS by default: Enables SMS for each customer by default. * Note: If you enable this and do not require either a phone number or a mobile number, the mobile number field will appear automatically in the new customer screen.

Enable Multiple Contacts on Customers: Allows you to have one umbrella Customer, with several points of contact within it the larger Customer record. For example, if you are working with a company with several locations/store owners, you can add each one to that same company's Customer Record.

Additional Referred By items: Lets you edit the referral source options when you create a new Customer Record. If you want to track referrals by existing customers, just enter "Customer" as one of the options and a drop-down will appear when you are adding referral sources for new customers.

Optionally, require these fields when creating a customer: You can force these fields to be populated when creating a new Customer. Contacts inherit this settings as well.

Click Additional Settings to see the rest of these.

Secure customer portal with password if portal users exist (including unclaimed invites): If a portal user is created for a customer, they will be prompted to create a password or you can set a password for them on the customer detail page. Yay Security!

Disable Privacy Page in Customer Portal (GDPR): Turns off the privacy page in the customer portal.

Disable Erase Me button in Customer Portal (GDPR): If your account is in a locale where GDPR is enforced (like the UK) then this will remove the button that sends a request for erasure to the account from the customer portal.

Show Estimate Name in Customer Portal: Shows the custom estimate name added to the estimate in the portal.

Show Invoice Name in Customer Portal: Shows the custom invoice name added to the invoice in the portal.

Maintain custom names between Tickets, Estimates, and Invoices: When enabled, any custom names assigned to Estimates, Tickets or Invoices will automatically carry over when converting them from one form to another. For example, suppose you create an Estimate with a custom name. When you convert it to a Ticket, that custom name will carry over to the Ticket. If you then convert it to an Invoice, that custom name will again carry over to the Invoice. Learn more in this blog post.

Enable the Prepay Hours tracking feature: Allows you to sell and apply prepaid or block hours to a Customer. Learn more about prepaid hours.

Enable a Documentation link for each customer: This enables the documentation feature for all customers. Learn more about documentation.

Disable the address autocomplete: Disables the autocomplete for addresses.

Disable Customer Portal and redirect to URL (Leave blank to allow access): Redirect customers to a URL of your choosing rather than have them go to the customer portal.