Rename Custom Field, Update Script Automatically

I noticed today if I rename a customer custom field, it breaks any script that references it. When I went back into the script, the platform variable was pointed at nothing. This should be tied to the field and updated with it.

I think it also removes what is inside the field as well. I had a field populated, renamed and when I went back, it was gone.