Need advice: Break fix / One time clients

Hello all!
I’m new at Syncro! I’ve checked for an answer, but not managed and do need advice;
I’m attempting to move away from break-fix. I’ll still have the one off customers, bi-annual types, which I don’t want using the agent for chat/tickets/etc. Only a one-time remote support session when needed.
How would I go about setting that up? They still need to install the agent, which in turn gives them splash top. And the policy should have the tray hidden?
But this keeps the agent running 24/7 then! One time clients don’t want that. Nor do I want unnecessary entries in my asset list.

Syncro isn’t designed for ondemand/onetime use as you’ve discovered. I’d suggest getting ScreenConnect (Connectwise Control).

You can use Windows quick assist for ad hoc support and completly forgo installing Syncro. Quick assist is built into Windows 10. Anydesk is another excellent ad hoc remote support tool.

Ideally though, you woud set up a new customer called break-fix and apply a policy to turn off most of Syncro features. Use this for this these clients. You can then use the reporting features in Syncro to try and sell them a support agreement and move them on to monthly billing.

1 Like

Thanks! This makes sense to try upselling them.
I am trying to move away from break-fix, but definitely can’t do it 100%.

If the upsell doesn’t work, I can simply delete it (which will uninstall syncro).

FYI, deleting the agent won’t remove Splashtop, you’ll need to uninstall that first. Splashtop has an SOS plan you can look at, some others have cheap or ad-hoc plans, or the Windows 10 Quick Assist is free and fairly easy to use.