CyberDrain.com - Detect failed logons

I’m having trouble with CyberDrain’s detect failed logons script from the community library.

It’s throwing the following errors:

error> System.InvalidOperationException: A circular reference was detected while serializing an object of type 'System.Management.Automation.PSParameterizedProperty'.
error> Stack:
error>   at ConvertTo-Json20, C:\ProgramData\Syncro\bin\module.psm1: line 310
error>   at Call-SyncroApiEx, C:\ProgramData\Syncro\bin\module.psm1: line 262
error>   at Call-SyncroApi, C:\ProgramData\Syncro\bin\module.psm1: line 242
error>   at Rmm-Alert, C:\ProgramData\Syncro\bin\module.psm1: line 32
error>   at <ScriptBlock>, C:\ProgramData\Syncro\bin\a49a4363-8649-49c9-9502-84fcfdfab756.ps1: line 22
error>   at <ScriptBlock>, <No file>: line 1
error>   at <ScriptBlock>, <No file>: line 1
error> Call-SyncroApi: failure
Call-SyncroApi: success

I’m no PowerShell expert. Does anyone here have any ideas what is causing the errors? Is anyone running this script successfully?

Looks like it’s an issue with the RMM-Alert line. I would try removing the processing from that command and add quotes to see if that helps, so replace the one line with two:

$EventObject = $EventObject | out-string
Rmm-Alert -Category 'Brute force attempt' -Body "$EventObject"
1 Like

I was able to duplicate your results. Delete your script and pull down a new copy. This time use the IMPORT SCRIPT button in the upper right. You are missing all of the system variables.

1 Like

Hi, i’m not OP but i get the same error as him, even after deleting and reimporting the script

Thank guys. Importing the script resulted in the same errors. Isaac’s suggestion to split the RMM-Alert line into 2 lines got rid of the error messages, but -Body doesn’t get updated with the $EventObject values.

This works fine for me (with the appropriate supplied variables)

Import-Module $env:SyncroModule