Customer Portal Users

Portal User Permissions allows you to give granular permissions to your portal users. Portal users can be created in the customer detail screen.

 

Table of Contents

Overview
Portal User Permission Groups
Default Permissions For Non-Portal Users
Adding a Portal User
Enabling MFA

 

Overview

They are meant to work with contacts, so you can add contacts, then assign them portal user groups with different permissions.

Here are some technical details:

  • If a customer has no portal users, they will be able to use their secure token login link that is on by default and linked to from the customer detail screen in the app
  • If there is at least one portal user, the secure login link will no longer be enough, they will be redirected to also use their username/password combination
  • If there is a portal user and no contacts, once they login, they should see what they had before - everything by default
  • If there is a portal user assigned to a contact, they whatever default portal permission is set at Admin > Customers > Portal permissions
  • If you as a technician log into a customers portal account, it doesn't log you out for a long time, if you then click a link to another customers portal that does not have portal users, instead of just 'being logged into it' the system will detect your prior login, and have to log you out of that session - end result, if you log in and out of a lot of portal accounts, some you'll have to click the link twice

 

Portal User Permission Groups

Portal user permission groups will allow you to set permission levels on what can be accessed and viewed within the customer portal. Then you can give your customers and contacts access to their portal based on these permission groups and choose what they can and cannot view.

To set these up head to Admin > Customers - Portal User Permission Groups.

From here you can edit an existing Permission Group or add a new one. You can select which permission group you would like to be the default group that is automatically applied to new portal users. To edit an existing group, select the icon next to the group and hit 'edit'.

Here you can choose what permissions you want each portal user in that permission group to have access to in their customer portal.

When finished, click Update Portal group. Once the Portal User Permission Groups have been set up, they can now be applied to your customers and contacts.

 

Default Permissions For Non-Portal Users

If you opt to not set up portal users, you can utilize the system "Non-Portal Users" permissions group:

This will allow you to assign which permissions these users have by default, without having them log in with their own dedicated portal accounts.

Note that your users will have the same Non-Portal Users Group permissions when they access the Customer Online Portal in customer accounts with no portal users. This applies to Global Admins and even when a different Portal User Permission Group is set to the default.

 

Adding a Portal User

While by default it is possible to get directly into the Customer Portal, you can also give the customer a Username and password to secure their Portal.

The Portal Users are housed on the Customer detail page for a customer. Open any customer profile and scroll down to the Portal User section.

Click the New button to get started.

 

We will populate the "Customer/Contact" section with the primary customer. This field is a drop-down that allows you to select from the Customer Contacts as well.

 

The Login field will default to the email address for the customer record. This is the username for signing in to the Portal. We recommend always using an email address for this so that the customer can self serve password resets in the Customer Portal.

 

To enable Portal Users on Contacts, head to your the Contacts tab on the customer detail screen to view a contact. To add them as a Portal User select the checkbox next to 'Enable Portal User':

2. Once enabled, you can choose which portal user group the contact will belong to:


3. Once the Portal Group has been selected, press 'Save' to send the portal invitation. The contact will receive an invitation to the email on file to finish setting up their portal account.

You can also choose to enable MFA for the portal user:

If the contact does not have an email on file, when you select 'Enable Portal User' you will be given the option to manually create a username and password that can then be sent to your client:

4. Your customer will now be able to login through the portal login page that can be added to your email templates - or linked from your website:

You man also enable the portal for multiple customers/contacts in bulk by heading to the main customer page and selecting which customers you would like to have portal access. More on that here.

 

Self-Serve Password Reset

If your customer has forgotten their password for the portal, you can choose to send them an email to reset their password by heading to the contact and selecting 'Password Reset':

Then you can choose to send a Password Reset link to the customer's email:

Note this only works if the portal user has their email as the login. If they do not, you will need to use the manual password override.

 

Enabling MFA for a Portal User

You can enable multi-factor authentication (MFA) for any newly created or existing portal user.

To enable MFA select the dropdown arrow under the Portal Users section on the customer's detail page. Then select the checkbox next to 'Require MFA For This User' and save by selecting 'Update Portal User':

Customers will then be prompted to set up MFA the next time they log in to the customer portal.

You can disable MFA by unchecking the box above and updating the portal user. Please note you will need to require MFA for each individual portal user added.

Note: If you do not see the DOCUMENTATION section (along with hardly anything else), are there any Portal Users for this customer? If not, then when you access their portal, it defaults to the Non-Portal User Group permissions. You will need to edit those permissions (found in Admin > Customers - Portal User Permission Groups) to enable the Documentation - View Public setting and any other sections you want those Portal users to view.