Are all my outbound emails supposed to go via SMTP?

Hi
I recently configured custom SMTP via Sendinblue, my test emails are working, my tickets emails are working and are getting delivered to my inbox folder, however, estimates and tickets notifications to my techs are getting delivered in spam, upon checking (I am a tech :slight_smile: ) i noticed that those emails are being sent out from Syncro email system

, not via my SMTP server, is that the expected behavior?

Hi @moshe1,

Welcome to the communtiy! From what I have learned this far, this is expected behavior. If there is any reason that the SMTP server goes down, we want to assure you that you and your team are still being notified of all updates.

This affects all SyncroMSP system emails that use their Sendgrid account. Syncro uses your domain in the RFC 2822 From header while using their own email.syncroemail.com domain in the RFC 2821 from header, aka the return-path. They DKIM sign with a key for syncroemail.com, but without alignment between the RFC 2822 From domain and your domain in the RFC 2822 From this signature is useless per DMARC requirements.

That means these messages will always trip spoofing detection rules, and if your domain uses a strong DMARC policy (like mine does), there is no way to prevent the messages from being quarantined that doesn’t weaken your security posture toward spoofing attacks.

I reported it over a year ago it has gained no traction, despite being given target dates on when it would be resolved.

1 Like

Except no one will be informed by those Sengrid emails, since the way Syncro has their mail system configured insures that all mail sent will be flagged as spoofed!

1 Like

Thanks for your reply, if it cannot use my SMTP, it should use a from @syncroemail.com address, as others point out they are all going to spam.
Any workaround?

2 Likes

This has been the correct solution all along.